God’s Law of Love

Memory Verse: Luke 11:28 – “But he saith, Yea, rather, blessed are they that hear the word of God, and keep it.”


God loved us so much that he gave us his Law of Love.  His Law is a reflection of himself.  His law is moral, spiritual, universal, and perpetual. The Law was given that people may know how to love God and to love one another.  This Law of Love is the Ten Commandments which God wrote and spoke to Israel. (Exodus 20:1-20; 31:18)

The law existed long before he spoke it to Israel.  If the law had not existed, there would have been no sin before Sinai.  If the law had not existed, Lucifer and his angels would have remained in heaven. The wilderness journey was like a purging period for Israel.  It was time to clean out the bondage of sin and to allow the Spirit of God to purify their hearts. (II Peter 2:4)

The Ten Commandments is moral because it conveys a pattern of conduct for humanity.  The law is spiritual because only those who love God and have trusted in the empowerment of his Spirit can obey it.  He empowers those who believe and have a desire to do his will with his Spirit.  The law is universal because it applies to all people every day.  The law is perpetual because it will never change.  The law remains to govern the human behavior until the end of this world. The observance of the Ten Commandments(law) as a whole has been rejected. Instead of accepting what God has commanded, man have changed the words to adhere to his convenience. It is often misunderstood as the law that was done away with at the cross. Why would God do away with a law that commands love to him and to each other? (Romans 7:12; Mark 12:28-31)

The first four commandments of the law regulate our duty to love God.  Each gives a specific principle that supports a holy and blessed relationship with him.  The last six commandments regulate our duty toward people. Each gives a specific principle that supports how we ought to treat one another. (Mark 12:28-31; Deuteronomy 6:5)

Those who choose to obey the Ten Commandments are blessed in so many ways.  It transforms us from a sinner to a believer and we grow in the grace of God through Jesus Christ witnessing the fruits of the Spirit: love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, and temperance.  When we respond positively to God’s law, the Ten Commandments, we become part of his holy nation. (Psalm 119:1; I Peter 2:9)

Exodus 20:1-20Ten Commandments

Commandment                                  Explanation

1.Thou shalt have no other gods before me.  -Exclusive worship is to the one true God.

2. Thou shalt not make any graven image.  – Idolatry is not acceptable. God is to be worshiped in spirit and truth.


3. Thou shalt not take the name the Lord thy God in vain.   – God is to be reverend, Do not take him lightly.  His name is to be respected and loved.

4. Remember the seventh day Sabbath.   – The Sabbath day was created and blessed during the creation week.  God name the day the seventh day.  The day was made before any nations of people were made.  It is a day for man to remember and to keep holy.  It is a very important day because it is a time that God has called us to draw closer to him by forsaking all activities that we engage in the other six days.  A day of rest, worship, meditation, and prayer.  A weekly appointment that does not change.

5. Honour thy father and thy mother.   -Respect is due to parents, not just in word but in the way in which they are treated.   An added blessing that days be long upon the earth is included with this command.    

6. Thou shalt not kill.     -God is the giver of life.  We have no right to take the life of no man for no reason. 

7. Thou shalt not commit adultery.   -Marital relationship are meant to be pure and forever. Relationships outside of marriage, including fornication are not accepted by God. 

8. Thou shalt not steal.  -Do not take property of another.

9. Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbor.   -This command guards truth. We must not lie and spread false messages on each other.

10. Thou shalt not covet.    -Covet means to desire the belongings of others.  We must be thankful for what we have and pray to God for things that we desire.  Trust that he will give us what we need.

Pastor Tylvia E. Koromah
The Path of Righteousness Church in Christ

Sabbath School Lessons